The members of the COVID-19 ministerial advisory committee. (Slide from a May 2020 committee presentation.)

Plus, find out what powers the expert group has.

Resource details:

Publication: Ministerial Advisory Committee (MAC) on COVID-19 terms of reference; list of sub-committees and chairs; and MAC advisories issued up until 18 May

Author(s): Department of Health

Publication date: 30 March 2020

What the documents are about:

These documents outline the MAC’s powers, limitations, composition as well as the topics on which the MAC was asked to advise government.

  1. A pathologists and laboratory sub-committee, chaired by Koleka Mlisana;
  2. A clinicians sub-group, chaired by Marc Mendelson
  3. The public health sub-committee, chaired by Shabir Madhi; and 
  4. A research sub-committee with Glenda Gray as the chair. 

Salim Abdool Karim serves as the MAC overarching chair. A list of the sub-committee members can be found here.

Key take-aways from the documents:

Ministerial Advisory Committee advisories:

Other take-always:

  • The MAC will provide recommendations on managing cases of COVID-19 in the health system, interventions to control the spread of the disease, communication strategies, the research agenda and the impact of the disease on the country’s economy.  
  • Committee members participate in their personal capacity and not as representatives of a “constituency, organisation or sector”.
  • Members are to adhere to a code of conduct that includes attending meetings, respecting confidentiality and are to be collaborative.
  • Adhere to applicable procedures surrounding conflicts of interest.
  • Committee membership is unpaid. Personal time spent on the Committee and work developed for the MAC will be unremunerated.

[Please note: The list of submitted advisories was provided to Bhekisisa by the Ministerial Advisory Committee’s chairperson, Salim Abdool Karim on May 18, 2020. The list of advisories the Committee is currently working on was provided to Bhekisisa by the Ministerial Advisory Committee’s chairperson, Salim Abdool Karim on May 18. These lists thus reflect the advisories as correct up until May 18.]

You can find and download the documents here:

Terms of Reference

List of sub-committee chairs and members

List of COVID-19 submitted advisories

Cloth face masks advisory

List of COVID-19 advisories

[Please note: Information on the new coronavirus is rapidly changing. Please refer to the Department of Health for the latest information. Visit for updates on South Africa’s coronavirus response]